Arca announces debut album Xen on Mute; I’m skipping to November

Arca announces debut album Xen on Mute; I’m skipping to November

Innovative electronic artist and Yeezus/FKA Twigs collaborator Arca (a.k.a. Alejandro Ghersi) has just announced his long-awaited debut album. It’s called Xen and will be out November 4 on Mute (that’s right, headin’ to the big leagues). It’ll be available on CD, LP, and download. There will also be a limited-edition vinyl format of just 500 copies, hand-numbered and sealed in black PVC with an exclusive bonus 10-inch. The artwork is provided by longtime collaborator and feeder of nightmares Jesse Kanda. Preorders are open here.

Now that I’ve gotten past my main journalistic duties, HOLY SHIT! Finally! Did you even hear &&&&&? Because it was our ninth-favorite release of last year. And even before that, Stretch 2 landed on our 2012 favorites list. Did you hear that one? DID YOU?

Seriously, we’ve got new albums from Ariel Pink, Dean Blunt, and now Arca all coming in November (here’s hoping Holly Herndon gets in on this)? I don’t know about you, but I’m about to pop some Waitmate and get the hell over there.

Arca’s got his brief DJ tour with Total Freedom and Jesse Kanda providing visuals coming up in a week. Head here for the details on that, and check out album track “Thievery” and the Xen tracklist below.

Xen tracklist:

01. Now You Know
02. Held Apart
03. Xen
04. Sad Bitch
05. Sisters
06. Slit Thru
07. Failed
08. Family Violence
09. Thievery
10. Lonely Thugg
11. Fish
12. Wound
13. Bullet Chained
14. Tongue
15. Promise

• Arca:
• Mute:

Most Read