Alexander Moskos’ Drainolith plans new Hysteria LP on NNA Tapes, out June 2

Alexander Moskos' Drainolith plans new Hysteria LP on NNA Tapes, out June 2

What are you doing on June 2? Will you be experiencing “exaggerated or uncontrollable emotion or excitement,” perhaps even among a group of people? Or maybe you’ve got it penciled into the old datebook that you’ll spend your time working through a psychological disorder that is “not now regarded as a single definite condition” and that “has a controversial history as it was formerly recorded as a disease specific to women.” If you answered ‘yes’ to any of my above Dictionary quotes then you’re prepared for the new Drainolith LP coming from NNA Tapes on June 2. You see, the album is called Hysteria which, based on your affirmative responses, is precisely what you’ve got on the docket for your early June. It is your destiny.

Drainolith, of course, is the solo project of Alexander Moskos, formerly of AIDS Wolf (formerly) and Dan’l Boone (currently). If you’re into low creepy croons over wonky sounds made by dudes with super cool “noise pedigrees” and produced by other dudes with similarly cool “noise pedigrees” (viz. Nate Young and Neil Hagerty), then you’re going to want to trace over your penciled-in calendar date with pen, because Hysteria is right up your alley, and it’s coming straight for you, and oh my god is that a knife?!

Just kidding. No knives here, only press releases saying things like: “With guitar and voice at the core, the additional instrumentation on ‘Hysteria’ is the bizarre glue that binds it all together, using the palette of electronics, keys, and haphazardly triggered beats and percussion in an intensely layered fashion to ensure maximum disorientation.” Sounds like my kind of party! Be on the lookout, because the album’s first single “No Name (Dany Kane’s Blues)” is reportedly planning to jump into the passenger seat of your car at a stop light some time in the very near future.

Hysteria tracklist:

01. No Name (Dany Kane’s Blues)
02. Inside and Outside (Bog’s Blues)
03. Kix
04. Same Whip Same Damage (Borderline Blues)
05. UAV
06. Joy Road

• Drainolith:
• NNA Tapes:

Most Read