Paul White announces new LP on R&S, shares a track; call him Kubla Khan the Don

Paul White announces new LP on R&S, shares a track; call him Kubla Khan the Don

Legendary Belgian label R&S has announced its latest signing in British hip-hop producer Paul White. The South London artist is known for collaborating with Danny Brown on XXX and Old, as well as being the direct lineage of Samuel Taylor Coleridge, the Romantic poet who also made the beat for “Kubla Khan.” That was a maaassive tune.

White’s fourth record, Shaker Notes, will drop via R&S next month and “charts the intoxication, heartbreak, and ultimate triumph of a grand love affair.” Sounds pretty romantic Paul… have you been reading Pappy Coleridge’s journal entries again? Regardless, White’s latest sees him putting the sampler on the backburner and picking up drums, bass, guitar, synths, and maybe castanets, judging by the sensual vibe. He also sings on much of the album, sharing the stage with collaborators like UK folk singer Nancy Elizabeth on the title track and “a talented visiting American uncle,” who lends his electric violin to “Sitting in Circles.” After this, every rapper’s gonna want Talented Visiting American Uncle on their shit.

Before Shaker Notes is released on September 30, White has shared the full tracklist and a stream of “Honey Cats,” which sounds like a noirish drug dirge and can be heard below. Paulie White a.k.a. Kubla Khan the Don, you’ve made Pappy Coleridge very proud.

Shaker Notes tracklist:

01. Intro
02. All We Know
03. Where You Gonna Go?
04. Honey Cats
05. Wait & See
06. Running on a Rainy Day
07. Fighting to Dance
08. Is It Up to Us?
09. Sitting in Circles
10. Numbers of Change
11. Shaker Notes

• Paul White:
• R&S:

Most Read