Santigold’s forthcoming album 99¢ features iLoveMakonnen, TV On The Radio’s Dave Sitek, and more

Santigold's forthcoming album 99¢ features iLoveMakonnen, TV On The Radio's Dave Sitek, and more

Move over, Bieber. Santigold’s forthcoming album 99¢ is gonna be a major contender in the world of upbeat pop, featuring lyrics about the joys of our consumerist society, a radio-friendly single about digging yourself, and flute solos. But it’s out January 22 (via Atlanta), bro, so you got a little bit longer to flex those flute solo muscles. 99¢ sees her working with iLoveMakonnen, TV on The Radio’s Dave Sitek, Patrik Berger, Rostam Batmanglij, Hit Boy, Justin Raisen, Sam Dew, John Hill, and Doc McKinney.

In regards to her album title and lyrical themes, Santigold says, “we have no illusion that we don’t live in this world where everything is packaged. People’s lives, persona, everything, is deliberate, and mediated. It can be dark and haunting and tricky, and freak us out, but it can be also be silly and fun and we can learn to play with it.” The album’s cover art, a collaboration between photographer Haruhiko Kawaguchi and the Philly-born producer and singer, shows a pre-packaged Santigold shrinkwrapped with a bunch of stuff and ready for store shelves.

99¢ tracklisting:

01. Can’t Get Enough of Myself (feat. B.C.)
02. Big Boss Big Time Business
03. Banshee
04. Chasing Shadows
05. Walking in a Circle
06. Who Be Lovin Me (feat. iLoveMakonnen)
07. Rendezvous Girl
08. Before the Fire
09. All I Got
10. Outside the War
11.Run the Races
12. Who I Thought You Were

Most Read