Sharon Van Etten reminds herself to announce her new album Remind Me Tomorrow and share its lead single

Sharon Van Etten reminds herself to announce her new album Remind Me Tomorrow and share its lead single
Photo: Ryan Pfluger

Sharon Van Etten hasn’t released an album since 2014’s Are We There, but she’s been plenty busy. Acting, motherhood, film scoring, academia; she was even a musical guest on the revival of that one television show from the 90s. (Northern Exposure, I think it was?) Now, Van Etten is looking to cement her quintuple threat status with her new album, Remind Me Tomorrow, set for release on January 18 via Jagjaguwar.

Written during her scant downtime from the “extra-curriculars” mentioned above, Van Etten says that Remind Me Tomorrow is a record about pursuing your passions. To quote: “I want to be a mom, a singer, an actress, go to school, but yeah, I have a stain on my shirt, oatmeal in my hair and I feel like a mess, but I’m here. Doing it. This record is about pursuing your passions.” See? Just like I said!

Van Etten teamed with producer John Congleton — in addition to a handful of collaborators that includes Heather Woods Broderick and Xiu Xiu’s Jamie Stewart — who helped her to make Remind Me Tomorrow distinct from her usual fare — which is to say, more energetic and upbeat. She also shied away from writing on guitar for the record, setting it apart from anything Van Etten has released previously, something which is immediately apparent upon listening to lead single “Comeback Kid.” Synths, organ, harmonium — if it’s got keys, you can expect to hear it.

Speaking of, hear it for yourself by listening to “Comeback Kid” down below. While there, you can also check out the artwork and full tracklisting for Remind Me Tomorrow, as well as Sharon Van Etten’s upcoming shows. Remind Me Tomorrow is out January 18 via Jagjaguwar, and can be pre-ordered (either today OR tomorrow) right here.

Remind Me Tomorrow tracklisting:

01. I Told You Everything
02. No One’s Easy To Love
03. Memorial Day
04. Comeback Kid
05. Jupiter 4
06. Seventeen
07. Malibu
08. You Shadow
09. Hands
10. Stay

Sharon Van Etten live not at The Roadhouse

10.06.18 — Austin, TX — Austin City Limits Music Festival
10.09.18 — Morrison, CO — Red Rocks w/ The National
10.14.18 — Oakland, CA — Treasure Island Music Festival

Most Read