Don’t act shocked: there’s a new album from The Men coming out this spring on Sacred Bones

Don't act shocked: there's a new album from The Men coming out this spring on Sacred Bones

Good day, [adjective] readers! It’s [year] and The Men, the most prolific band in garage rock, have a new album coming out on [date]. It’s called [album title] and it’s out on Sacred Bones! They’re also going to be touring [some variation on “so much”].

There. You’re welcome, music journalists! I solved it for you. With this new, convenient The Men New Album Release formula, you’ll never have to think up how to write yet another story about yet another new album from The Men again! Guaranteed to be one of your most-used Band Story Formulas, this Mad Libs-style three sentence “story” will give your readers all the info they need to know, which is basically “Yes, the Men have a new album out. No, a NEW new album. Not that one from nine months ago or whatever. A new one. Go buy it.”

But this one, ladies and gentlemen, the follow-up to October’s Campfire Songs that followed up New Moon (TMT Review) from a few months earlier, is a little bit different. Tomorrow’s Hits is The Men’s first album recorded in a high-end studio, Brooklyn’s own Strange Weather. Back in 2012, the band had been touring pretty much ceaselessly, and ostensibly decided to take a break but come on guys no one believes you were ever going to take a break. They started practicing in founding member Mark Perro’s Bushwick bedroom almost every day for a few months, resulting in ~40 demos, which the band then cut down to 13 tracks. Then it was off for two days of magic and pleasure at Strange Weather, where they recorded everything live and hung out with a horn section on a couple songs. And thusly it was that Tomorrow’s Hits came into the world, and thusly it was that The Men prepared themselves for a brief spring East Coast tour in support of said album. Knowing The Men, these four East Coast dates will soon morph into 44, and this one album will soon procreate into 16 EPs. They’re a lot like Jesus in that way. Or rock ‘n’ roll gerbils.

Tomorrow’s Hits tracklisting:

01. Dark Waltz
02. Get What You Give
03. Another Night
04. Different Days
05. Sleepless
06. Pearly Gates
07. Settle Me Down
08. Going Down


03.02.14 - Allston, MA - Great Scott
03.03.14 - Washington, DC - Rock and Roll Hotel
03.04.14 - Philadelphia, PA - Johnny Brenda’s
03.05.14 - New York, NY - Bowery Ballroom

• The Men:
• Sacred Bones:

Most Read