Tim Heidecker to release new digital album of Trump-themed songs, Too Dumb for Suicide, next week! Sad!

Tim Heidecker to release new digital album of Trump-themed songs, Too Dumb for Suicide, next week! Sad!
Photo: Cara Robbins

Well, guys; it may have taken a year or so…but Tim Heidecker (yes, THE Tim Heidecker) has finally completed the herculean and audacious project of lovingly roasting America’s beloved 45th president via the medium of popular song.

Obviously, poking gentle, patriotic fun at the most respected man in the free world is a supremely delicate task, so Heidecker had to take his time getting the necessary balance of humor, affection, pathos, whimsy, and quiet awe JUST RIGHT before announcing the release his magnum opus on Jagjaguwar/Rado Records.

From the bald eagle-feathered quill of Mr. Heidecker himself:

Well here it is. About one year in the making, all my Trump songs in one place. Most of these songs were written and recorded quickly, with the blood still boiling from whatever indignity absurdity had popped up on my newsfeed that day. Certainly, “Trump Tower” was written in the rotten dawn, days after Trump’s win. Let’s hope I don’t write any more of these, but I probably will. Thanks to Davin Wood for playing piano on “Trump Tower,” and thanks to Jonathan Rado, who produced and played on a good number of these (the ones where you hear some of that beautiful tape hiss on, mostly) — his tribute to Steve Nieve on “Imperial Bedroom” is particularly inspired. Thanks to Kane Ritchotte and Max Whipple for providing the best rhythm section a boy could ask for and to Jordan Katz, Taylor Plenn and David Ralicke for laying down some sweet horns on “Wilbur Ross.” Thanks to Vic Berger for adding some backups to “Sentencing Day” and for usually being the best audience for these tunes. Thanks to Josh Tillman for surprising me with a tear-inducing cover of “Trump’s Private Pilot” and for allowing us to include it here…Finally, NO thanks to Paul Simon who didn’t let us include “I Am A Cuck.”

Too Dumb for Suicide features artwork by Eric Yahnker and will be released digitally on the historically resonant date of November 8. And, according to his press release, a portion of the album’s proceeds “will be donated to suicide prevention organizations.”

But why wait? If (unlike Paul Simon) you’re any kind of patriot, you’ll head here to pre-order the most significant American musical statement of our generation right now. Then, you’ll check out the album trailer — which features music from the album track “Sentencing Day” — down below.

Too Dumb for Suicide tracklisting:

01. Trump Tower
02. Imperial Bathroom
03. Richard Spencer
04. For Chan
05. Mar A Lago
06. Trump’s Private Pilot
07. MAGA
08. Wilbur Ross
09. Cooked Chinese Chicken
10. Trump Talkin’ Nukes
11. Sentencing Day
12. Trump’s Private Pilot (Father John Misty version) (Bonus Track)

Most Read