Tujiko Noriko to brighten up your January with Tyme. x Tujiko release GYU on Editions Mego!

Tujiko Noriko to brighten up your January with Tyme. x Tujiko release GYU on Editions Mego!

After four years without a proper solo or collaborative release, Tujiko Noriko has announced a new album with Tatsuya Yamada (going by Tyme. here, but also known as MAS) to be released January 17 on Editions Mego. The duo (going by Tyme. x Tujiko) got together once a year over the course of six years and produced six of the 11 tracks that appear on the new record. After realizing they had some badass music on their hands, they decided they didn’t want to wait another several years before enough had been created to substantiate an album, churned out another five tracks and called the collection GYU.

Mego is suggesting that the new sound is “a gaudy take on J-pop, perhaps?” Based on the snippets of tracks available for preview on SoundCloud (found here, here, and here), that rather nonsensical description might be apt. The tracks bubble along more rapidly than most of Tujiko’s previous output and radiate with a “weird sense of optimism.” It could be just the shot of upbeat sunshine you’ll be craving in mid-January among wicked cold temperatures and broken resolutions.

GYU is an onomatopoeia for a Japanese word that means to hold on to something tightly. Grab a hold of this new release by pre-ordering your copy now! As the press release from Editions Mego clumsily states, “You know you like it really.”

GYU tracklisting:

01. akete, akete
02. gyungyun
03. tropic penguin
04. heart koorasete
05. vacation of god
06. from a spring
07. golden heart
08. ten to sen
09. slow motion
10. unforgettable light
11. world

• Tujiko Noriko: http://www.tujikonoriko.com
• Tatsuya Yamada: http://dubdish.com
• Editions Mego: http://editionsmego.com

Most Read