Ty Segall announces break from releasing studio albums to release live album

Ty Segall announces break from releasing studio albums to release live album

Ty Segall — wild child, bon vivant, poet laureate — makes a lot of music. This is well-worn territory.

There comes a time in every artist’s career however, where they need to take a step back from it all; stop writing, recording, and releasing studio albums, and just veg out. As such, Ty Segall has announced he will be taking a break from releasing new studio albums…to release a new live album.

Out March 29 on Drag City, Deforming Lobes was recorded live at the Telegram Ballroom in Los Angeles during Segall’s tour with the Freedom Band — Mikal Cronin, Charles Moothart, Emmett Kelly, and Ben Boye — in support of last year’s Freedom’s Goblin. Another fun tidbit: the album was actually recorded by notable recorder-of-things Steve Albini! And while only eight tracks long, Deforming Lobes covers material from across Segall’s catalog, serving as a sort of bookend/exclamation point to the Freedom’s Goblin era.

Deforming Lobes is out March 29 via Drag City. Listen to “Love Fuzz,” and check out the album’s artwork and track listing down below. Pre-order the album here. See you all here again in three months when Ty announces a new studio album, which we’re going on-record to predict will be called Transcendental Burro.

Deforming Lobes

01. Warm Hands
02. Squealer
03. Breakfast Eggs
04. The Crawler
05. Finger
06. They Told Me Too
07. Cherry Red
08. Love Fuzz

Most Read