felicita details new album hej! on PC Music, shares “marzipan” video featuring Caroline Polachek

felicita details new album hej! on PC Music, shares "marzipan" video featuring Caroline Polachek

Following an overflowing handful of singles, EPs, soundtracks, and dance pieces, felicita’s debut album hej! is finally (almost) here from the finest folks at PC Music. And while I’d really like to discuss the confounding phraseology of “debut album” used to describe the first full-length LP from an already fairly-well-established artist, instead I’ll just let you know that it drops August 3.

felicita has accordingly shared a new video (with song attached) for that strangest-of-baking materials, “marzipan,” featuring vocals by the inimitable Caroline Polachek that I guarantee you’ll almond be really fondant of. Listen below with the previously released video for “hej!”

Additionally, test your multitasking skills by reading this lovely exchange between Caroline [C] and felicita [f] as you watch the video:

If I play the narrator, where is felicita? - C

felicita is whispering the story into your ear. - f

Did you enjoy being frightened by anything as a child? - C

I remember being frightened by, but enjoying: fireworks, sleepwalking, being lost on the beach, ‘scary sounding music’ (Captain Beefheart), mushrooms. - f

There are thousands of versions of był sobie król (“marzipan”), but I know your interested in making things that are new. Is the oldness of the song included in your idea of newness, or is it more a structure for throwing new sounds and contexts into clearer juxtaposition? - C

Sometimes feeling good about something old for the first time is new. Sometimes newness comes through personal conflict and breakthrough, which can be felt in the work by others. Sometimes newness is trying to consciously reconfigure reality according to different ideas. Sometimes two people impulsively deciding to make something together that has no context or reason to exist can produce something new. Sometimes jumping around and yelling and stamping the floor in a studio with the mic left on until one of you falls into a chair and they both laugh is new. Sometimes it’s fine if things aren’t new if they still feel good. Newness can be deceptive sometimes. –f

DISCLAIMER: All theories on the relative value of “newness” may not apply to the new felicita album, which is so damn new that there isn’t even a proper pre-order link. In any case, go ahead and ease into the full tracklisting below so you don’t find yourself so earnestly surprised at a song title when the album releases in a month that you’re too scared to dive in. IT’S OKAY. YOU’RE GOING TO BE OKAY. THE TRACK TITLES CAN’T HURT YOU.

hej! tracklisting (Shift Key, you can take the rest of the day off, bud):

01. hej!
02. coughing up amber
03. elena
04. soft power I
05. soft power II
06. shook
07. marzipan (feat. Caroline Polachek)
08. elena again
09. night soil (fade out)
10. mosaic genetics

Most Read