Tim Heidecker & Davin Wood announce new album, prompting swift and taut media reports such as this one

Tim Heidecker & Davin Wood announce new album, prompting swift and taut media reports such as this one

Oh. Hello again, there, American actor, comedian, musician, writer, and director Mr. Tim Heidecker. I hope you’re well. I was quite pleased to hear that you — along with “longtime musical collaborator composer/multi-instrumentalist Davin Wood” — will be releasing your follow-up to 2011’s Starting from Nowhere (TMT Review), entitled Some Things Never Stay the Same, this coming November 12 on the Little Record Company label. I’ve been informed by your official press release (and am happy to re-report) that you’ve worked with some truly excellent L.A.-based musicians this time around, including Aimee Mann on some guitar, Eric Johnson (The Shins, Fruit Bats) on some vocals, and some great performances from a few former Rilo Kiley members. That sounds like good content for a news story, to be sure! However, in order to bring a little bit of additional context to the situation for the benefit of any readers whom may require (or at least appreciate) it, I thought I’d quote your press release more directly for a moment; I trust that’s alright.

“Let’s lay it all out on the table: this is the self-indulgent sophomore album,” it begins. “The horns, the female back-up singers, the songs about life on the road and redemption for indiscretions that remain vague to protect the innocent, but mostly the guilty,” the paragraph continues. Finally, it concludes thusly: “It’s by turns pompous, funny, overproduced, underbaked, overly serious and not serious enough. All in a good way, of course!” Well, splendid. I look forward to hearing all of this in full in a few months. In the meantime, it’s been both educational and interesting to write about this follow-up album of yours, and I am excited to post its complete tracklisting below, as well as a live rendition of the song “Cocaine,” which inaugurates the album. Cheers, my good sir!

Some Things Never Stay the Same tracklisting:

01. Cocaine
02. What Else Is New
03. Getaway Man
04. This Is Life
05. Tell Her I Love Her
06. Coming Home
07. Sunday Man
08. Hurricane
09. On Our Own
10. Salvation Street
11. Next Ten Years

• Heidecker & Wood: http://www.heideckerandwood.com
• Little Record Company: http://www.littlerecordcompany.com

Most Read