Windows 7 x64 MS Paint EXE Interpereted as PCM Data

“Awesome, music-like sounds result.”


When I use Adobe Audition and MS Paint, I end up with a crappy techno single and its cover art that no one will ever hear or see (anyone want to take a chance on a 12-year-old techno artist?). But when R2Bl3nd uses Adobe Audition and MS Paint, s/he makes a track worthy of Editions Mego. Well, not really. But by importing the raw data of mspaint.exe (Windows 7 version) into Adobe Audition as an 8-bit, 22050hz stereo audio file, R2Bl3nd ended up with the Mego-esque song above. Unfortunately, R2Bl3nd “faded in the beginning,” removed a “a long section of noise part of the way through,” and “added a bit of phase distortion, as well as reverb and equalization,” but maybe the original version will be released someday on an expanded reissue.



The facebook music-blog-whatever 21st-Century-Beat-Music turned me on to this gloomy donwtempo Flying Lotus-esque beatmaker. He’s got a bunch of albums on bandcamp with varying quality, but there are some real gems as well.

• 9Planets:

Xander Duell

“Emma Baby”

New York’s Xander Duell’s Experimental Tape 2, Vol. 1 is due March 29 on New York’s Mexican Summer.

• Xander Duell:
• Mexican Summer:

Rene Hell

“E.S. des Grauens in Fifths”

This bit is interesting from the press blurb for Rene Hell’s upcoming Terminal Symphony:

‘The Terminal Symphony’ is Jeff’s attempt to write tighter, more composed pieces of music – something of a reaction against the glut of long, often-flabby drone compositions that have become a mainstay in the scene. The pieces here are short, concise, and packed full of ideas that can take multiple listens to unravel, and the album, as a whole is almost obsessively structured and complex.

Listening to the record is like hearing Emerald’s Does It Look Like I’m Hear? – composition techniques are definitely emerging in a style that has been typified by long, improvised instrument/gear explorations. You can stream Terminal Symphony at Type records or below.

• Rene Hell:
• Type:

Laurel Halo

“Let Me Know (Aphrodite Jungle Edit)”

Notice this isn’t billed as a remix, but rather an edit of a remix. Care to trace the song’s evolution and see why it matters?

First is the basis, Aaliyah’s fairly standard mid-90s slow jam “At Your Best.” As you can see, it begins with a few breathy a capella lines dying to be sampled by a suave future generation.

Then along comes the “Godfather of Jungle,” Aphrodite, with a remix that takes the first line from Aaliyah’s original and meditates on it relentlessly via a compressed jungle/drum and bass beat. That shit sounds pretty mid-90s as well.

Now Laurel Halo gets the hint and “edits” Aphrodites remix, adding some extra cosmic synth pads and a much beefier drum stomp. Listen back and forth between the two – it’s kind of astonishing how two entirely different vibes (or rather, times and places) emanate from each mix. I guess it doesn’t take much to sound like 2011. Or maybe I should say “never underestimate the power of a good mix.”

I should also suggest that Aphrodite re-edit Laurel’s next album, maybe take some of the low end out, give it that 90s papery quality (sorry if that makes no sense). Call it “Godfathering” or “Jungling.” More importantly, doesn’t anyone care what Aaliyah has to say about her work exchanging between so many hands? I tried contacting her people for comment, but it turns out she’s dead!

• Laurel Halo:

CHOCOLATE GRINDER is our audio/visual section, with an emphasis on the lesser heard and lesser known. We aim to dig deep, but we'll post any song or video we find interesting, big or small.